Pray like a Gourmet: A Book Review

Pray like a Gourmet: Creative Ways to Feed Your Soul by David Brazzeal

One chapter into this book and I was already forming my review: This book wasn’t what I was expecting, and I am not sure I made a wise choice in picking…

I’m SO GLAD I didn’t give up!

There truly are not many books that have me writing notes for uses in ministry beyond one or two. I can find ideas in pretty much everything. However, in this book, I have officially decided what our mission team will be doing together in our last team meeting:

We are going to FEAST together.

Last year, we did prayer stations, focusing on healing from recent events in our community, and it was beautiful. I don’t expect any different this year, using the courses layout of Brazzeal’s book as my foundation.

Brazzeal uses a meal as the framework for re-thinking prayer. Like different courses on the table, the different parts of praying and how they interact with our spiritual palettes…

Praising
Thanking
Confession
Blessing
Observing
Lamenting
Meditating
Contemplating
Asking
Interceding
Joining

Seriously – this is a fabulous meal! And even as a vocational minister there are parts of prayers he brings forth that I forget on a regular basis. I forget to take time to bless others, and lament – and often, in the busy-ness of the world and work of ministry, I forget to contemplate.

Brazzeal moves through the courses in ways that open them up, and spark a “can do” attitude – knowing that I can do many of the creative ways he suggests – and that they are ways to invite my community to join me in them.

This book will be on the shelf, but not for long – because I am going to use it over and over again. Go ahead and get it! I’ll be buying copies for my colleagues, that’s for sure!

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the author and/or publisher through the Speakeasy blogging book review network. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255.

One Comment

Add yours →

  1. Reblogged this on david brazzeal and commented:
    This book will be on the shelf, but not for long – because I am going to use it over and over again. Go ahead and get it! I’ll be buying copies for my colleagues, that’s for sure!

    Like

Leave a Reply

